July 7, 2013 at 9:17 pm EDT | by Joey DiGuglielmo
Every fan should know …

The obscenely talented Harry Connick Jr. — straight but known by many gay fans as Grace’s hubby on “Will & Grace” — brought his summer tour to the Washington area Friday night with a smoldering and generous stop at Wolf Trap.

Harry Connick Jr. at Wolf Trap. (Blade photo by Joey DiGuglielmo)

Harry Connick Jr. at Wolf Trap. (Blade photo by Joey DiGuglielmo)

Touring his two current albums — “Every Man Should Know” and “Smokey Mary” — the jazz/funk legend played a no-filler, hour-and-58-minute set that found him darting all throughout his vast discography from pop standards of yesteryear (“Without a Song”), Broadway hits (“On a Clear Day”), gospel classics (highly unexpected-yet-effective “The Old Rugged Cross”), a medley from “When Harry Met Sally” and lots more. His tight 14-person band (complete with string section that did remarkably well at staying in tune despite the heat), crackled and fed off Connick’s energy. And he was in exceedingly fine voice throughout — his live vocals are exactly the sound you hear on his many recordings.

Connick is straight in a Hugh Jackman-kind of way — so confident in his heterosexuality that he’s not afraid to shimmy and gyrate in a mock-sensual way or sashay off the stage in a faux-prissy huff because the band at various points gets too much attention. Never taking himself or his music too seriously yet with more than enough talent to warrant his refreshingly old school-type of career approach, Connick is one of our true modern day musical gems. His summer tour wraps Aug. 31 in Lenox, Mass. Full tour dates are here.

The set list — slightly truncated from what was planned but known to vary significantly from show to show — was:

1. With a Song in My Heart

2. Bourbon Street

3. Without a Song

4. On a Clear Day

5. Didn’t He Ramble

6. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams

* Rock and Roll All Nite (spontaneous audience sing-along)

7. When Harry Met Sally medley

8. Bye Bye Blackbird (duet with Harry’s father)

9. Jesus On the Mainline (duet with Jonathan DuBois Jr.)

10. Old Rugged Cross

11. I Love Her

12. This Nearly Was Mine

13. Smokey Mary

14. Time To Go

15. funk jam

16. City Beneath the Sea

* band intros

17. One Fine Thing

18. Mardi Gras parade

19. The Way You Look Tonight

20. Come By Me

21. Every Man Should Know (encore)

Joey DiGuglielmo is the Features Editor for the Washington Blade.

Comments are closed
© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2020. All rights reserved.