February 24, 2010 at 3:13 pm EST | by Staff reports
GLAA to honor activists, community leaders

Eleven individuals and one organization are being recognized with Gay & Lesbian Activists Alliance Distinguished Service Awards.

The recipients, announced last week in advance of the April 20 award presentation, include DC Agenda senior news reporter Lou Chibbaro Jr. GLAA describes Chibbaro as “the standard-bearer for gay-focused journalism” in D.C. who has spent more than 30 years “chasing down leads to get to the bottom of all manner of stories related to the LGBT community.”

Eight awards recognize the contributions local activists, businessmen and clergy made toward passing the Religious Freedom & Civil Marriage Equality Amendment Act of 2009. Among those so honored are Michael Crawford, Rev. Monique Ellison, Brian Flowers, Mark Levine, Nick McCoy, Brian Moore and Sultan Shakir. D.C. Clergy United for Marriage Equality, co-chaired by pastors Dennis Wiley, Christine Wiley and Rob Hardies, also won recognition.

Additionally honored during the April event will be Joan Biren, a documentary artist who has focused on LGBT people and issues; Sean Bugg, co-publisher of Metro Weekly; and David Mariner, executive director of the D.C. Center.

Comments are closed
© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2020. All rights reserved.