January 4, 2019 at 3:58 pm EST | by Chris Johnson
PHOTOS: Historic number of gay, bisexual lawmakers sworn into Congress
House Speaker Nancy Pelosi swears in Rep. David Cicilline (Photo courtesy Pelosi’s office).

A historic number of openly gay and bisexual lawmakers on Thursday were sworn in the U.S. House and U.S. Senate at the start of the 116th Congress.

Ten LGB lawmakers will serve in the House and Senate during the 116th Congress. Eight will serve in the House and two will serve in the Senate. That’s a net gain of two from the 115th Congress.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) swore in seven LGB members to the U.S. House in her role as presiding officer of the chamber.

The seven members consisted of three lawmakers who have previously served in Congress — Reps. David Cicilline (D-R.I.), Mark Takano (D-Calif.) and Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N.Y.) — and four freshmen lawmakers — Reps. Katie Hill (D-Calif.), Angie Craig (D-Minn.), Chris Pappas (D-N.H.) and Sharice Davids (D-Kansas).

Another openly gay member of the House — Rep. Mark Pocan (D-Wis.) — was present at the official swearing-in ceremony in the House Chamber, but didn’t attend the subsequent photo opportunity.

In the U.S. Senate on the same day, Vice President Mike Pence in his role as president of the Senate swore in two LGB U.S. senators — Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.).

Here are photos of Pelosi swearing in LGB members of the House:

David Cicilline
Mark Takano
Sean Patrick Maloney
Sharice Davids
Chris Pappas
Angie Craig
Katie Hill

Here’s Pence swearing in Baldwin with her uncle, Guy Baldwin, Sr., holding the Bible:

Here’s Pence with Sinema, who was sworn in with a law book as opposed to a Bible:

Kyrsten Sinema

Chris Johnson is Chief Political & White House Reporter for the Washington Blade. Johnson is a member of the White House Correspondents' Association. Follow Chris

Comments are closed
© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2021. All rights reserved.