October 21, 2010 at 3:41 pm EDT | by Lou Chibbaro Jr.
Stein Club to host 34th anniversary reception

The Gertrude Stein Democratic Club, the city’s largest LGBT political organization, is scheduled to hold its 34th Anniversary Leadership Awards Reception on Oct. 28 at a penthouse terrace atop an office building in downtown D.C.

Among those named as a recipient of one of the club’s awards is D.C.’s presumptive mayor-elect, Vincent Gray. Club officials say Gray played a key role in guiding the city’s same-sex marriage equality law through the City Council in his role as Council Chair.

D.C. Council member Harry Thomas Jr. (D-Ward 5), whom the club says advocated for the same-sex marriage bill while facing strong opposition to the bill from many of his Ward 5 constituents, will receive the club’s “Justice Award.”

Others named as award recipients are Dennis and Christine Wiley, who are husband and wife ministers and leaders of D.C. Clergy United for Marriage Equality, a group that lobbied for the same-sex marriage law; Carlene Cheatam, veteran LGBT activist; Tiffany Joslyn, a Democratic Party activist; and Jose Gutierrez, an organizer in D.C.’s LGBT Latino community.

Information and tickets for the event, which serves as a club fundraiser, can be obtained through the club’s website.

Lou Chibbaro Jr. has reported on the LGBT civil rights movement and the LGBT community for more than 30 years, beginning as a freelance writer and later as a staff reporter and currently as Senior News Reporter for the Washington Blade. He has chronicled LGBT-related developments as they have touched on a wide range of social, religious, and governmental institutions, including the White House, Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the military, local and national law enforcement agencies and the Catholic Church. Chibbaro has reported on LGBT issues and LGBT participation in local and national elections since 1976. He has covered the AIDS epidemic since it first surfaced in the early 1980s. Follow Lou

Comments are closed
© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2019. All rights reserved.