January 4, 2012 at 5:13 pm EDT | by Phil Reese
Davis to stay on as permanent Executive Director of National Stonewall Dems

Jerame Davis Executive Director Stonewall Democrats, gay news, gay politics DC

Jerame Davis has been named Executive Director of the National Stonewall Democrats permanently, after several months holding that position in the interim. (Washington Blade photo by Michael Key)

The National Stonewall Democrats group announced today the selection of interim leader, Jerame Davis as permanent Executive Director; as well as a new leadership team on the Board of Directors.

Jerame Davis, who joined Stonewall in late 2009 as Affiliate Services Director was selected as interim Executive Director after the October resignation of Michael Mitchell. Before joining Stonewall, Davis was vice president of the Indiana Stonewall Democrats affiliate. Stonewall Democrats have had four Executive Directors since 2009, and have stumbled financially in the last several years.

Speaking to the Blade Wednesday, Davis reflected on the major work ahead of him in this election year.

“Throughout my life, I’ve had two passions: Democratic politics and LGBT equality,” Davis told the Blade. “National Stonewall Democrats is, quite literally, the intersection of those two things. To take the helm of NSD in such an important election year is the highlight of my career. I’m looking forward to re-electing President Obama and growing the ranks of pro-equality Democrats in Congress.”

“Jerame’s outside-the-beltway perspective and political experience positions National Stonewall Democrats as the national voice for pro-equality Democrats as we head into a presidential election,” incoming board co-chair Laurie McBride said in a statement released Wednesday. “With so many affiliates around the country providing vital grassroots support for LGBT Democrats and our allies, I am confident we are ready to win.”

In addition to the Director announcement, the Board of Directors announced the election of a new executive team. Massachusetts’ Stephen Driscoll and California’s Laurie McBride return as co-chairs to succeed outgoing chair Craig Roberts. Indiana’s Aaron Schaler will serve as the new secretary and Nevada’s Bill Jacobs will continue as treasurer.

“NSD’s new executive director and leadership team bring a solid perspective tempered with institutional knowledge,” outgoing chair Craig Roberts said Wednesday. “Working with Jerame for the past few months has been fantastic and I am confident he is the right person to lead NSD at this critical time. I know NSD is in good hands going into 2012 with this team in place.”

Incoming board co-chair Stephen Driscoll struck a defiant tone in Wednesday’s statement.

“Anti-gay Republicans and their apologists are on notice,” said Driscoll. “Jerame understands that partisan is not a dirty word. Partisanship in pursuit of the greater good is a very high calling indeed. As we swing into campaign mode, a refocused and repurposed NSD will help pave the road to victory in November and to progress beyond.”

“Democratic politics runs through my veins,” said Davis. “Living most of my life in a red state dominated by GOP gave me a first hand view of just how regressive and dangerous Republican dominance can be – especially for LGBT people. I am honored to be taking the helm of NSD at such a crucial moment.”


© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2018. All rights reserved.
Blade Blast

Get the latest LGBTQ news to your inbox every Thursday!