November 7, 2018 at 10:20 am EST | by Michael K. Lavers
LGBT incumbents re-elected to Md. House of Delegates

Luke Clippinger, Maryland House of Delegates, Democratic Party, Baltimore, gay news, Washington Blade

Maryland state Del. Luke Clippinger (D-Baltimore City) is among the LGBT incumbents who won re-election in Maryland on Nov. 6, 2018. (Washington Blade file photo by Michael Key)

The four openly LGBT members of the Maryland House of Delegates who were running for re-election won on Tuesday.

State Dels. Bonnie Cullison (D-Montgomery County), Anne Kaiser (D-Montgomery County), Luke Clippinger (D-Baltimore City) and Maggie McIntosh (D-Baltimore City) won their respective races.

State Del. Mary Washington (D-Baltimore City) on Tuesday made history as the first openly LGBT person of color elected to the Maryland Senate. Gabriel Acevero will be the first openly gay man of Afro-Latino descent in the state House of Delegates when he takes office.

State Sen. Rich Madaleno (D-Montgomery County), who lost to former NAACP President Ben Jealous in the Democratic gubernatorial primary, will leave office at the end of the year.

Howard County Registrar of Wills Byron MacFarlane on Tuesday defeated Republican Shawn Conley. Howard County Executive Allan Kittleman, a Republican who backed marriage rights for same-sex couples and co-sponsored a transgender rights bill when he was a member of the state Senate, lost to Democrat Calvin Ball.

Evan Glass on Tuesday became the first openly LGBT person elected to the Montgomery County Council when he won an at-large seat.

Michael K. Lavers is the international news editor of the Washington Blade. Follow Michael

Comments are closed
© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2020. All rights reserved.