November 7, 2018 at 9:25 am EST | by Lou Chibbaro Jr.
First known trans candidate elected to ANC
Monika Nemeth, gay news, Washington Blade

Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner-elect Monika Nemeth (Washington Blade photo by Michael Key)

Ward 3 community activist and transgender rights advocate Monika Nemeth won election on Tuesday to the Advisory Neighborhood Commission in district 3F06, becoming the first known transgender person to be elected to an ANC seat.

According to the D.C. Board of Election’s final but unofficial count, Nemeth received 56.6 percent of the vote, finishing ahead of incumbent commissioner William Sittig, who received 41.5 percent of the vote.

Nemeth, a member of the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club, the city’s largest local LGBT political organization, was among 30 known LGBT ANC candidates running in the Nov. 6 D.C. election.

Out of those 30 candidates, 23 won their races for ANC seats in six of the city’s eight wards. Sixteen of the 23 candidates that won were unopposed.

One of the LGBT candidates that lost, incumbent 2C01 Commissioner John Tinpe, lost to gay challenger Michael Shankle.

Two other gay ANC incumbents lost their re-election bids – Roger Moffat of 6D05, which includes the Southwest Waterfront neighborhood; and Nick Delle Donne of 2B04, which represents part of the Dupont Circle neighborhood.

Following is a list of the 30 known LGBT candidates running for Advisory Neighborhood Commission seats in Tuesday’s election and the outcome of their races:

Ward 1

Kent Boese, 1A08 (unopposed) – won

Michael Wray, 1A09 (unopposed) – won

Caleb-Michael Files, 1B02 – lost

James Turner, 1B09 (unopposed) – won

Rob Hudson, 1B11 (unopposed) – won

Japer Bowles, 1C07 – won

Ward 2

Matthew Sampson, 2B01 (unopposed) – won

Vincent Slatt, 2B03 – lost

Nick Delle Donne, 2B04 – lost

Randy Downs, 2B05 (unopposed) – won

Mike Silverstein, 2B06 (unopposed) – won

John Tinpe, 2C01 – lost

Michael Shankle, 2C01 – won

Jason Forman, 2F01 (unopposed) – won

John Guggenmos, 2F02 (unopposed) – won

John Fanning, 2F04 (unopposed) – won

Kevin Sylvester, 2F07 (unopposed) – won

Ward 3

Lee Brian Reba, 3C01 – won

Monika Nemeth, 3F06 – won

Dan Bradfield, 3G06 (unopposed) – won

Ward 4

Aaron Polkey, 4D03 (unopposed) – won

Ward 6

Robb Dooling, 6C06 (unopposed) – won

Ron Collins, 6D03 (unopposed) – won

Andy Litsky, 6D04 (unopposed) – won

Roger Moffatt, 6D05 – lost

Brandt J. Miller, 6D07 – lost

Alexander “Alex” Padro, 6E01 – won

Ward 7

Catherine Woods, 7C03 – won

Anthony Lorenzo Green (unopposed) – won

Mysiki Valentine, 7D04 – lost

Lou Chibbaro Jr. has reported on the LGBT civil rights movement and the LGBT community for more than 30 years, beginning as a freelance writer and later as a staff reporter and currently as Senior News Reporter for the Washington Blade. He has chronicled LGBT-related developments as they have touched on a wide range of social, religious, and governmental institutions, including the White House, Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the military, local and national law enforcement agencies and the Catholic Church. Chibbaro has reported on LGBT issues and LGBT participation in local and national elections since 1976. He has covered the AIDS epidemic since it first surfaced in the early 1980s. Follow Lou

Comments are closed
© Copyright Brown, Naff, Pitts Omnimedia, Inc. 2020. All rights reserved.